A part of Indiaonline network empowering local businesses
Chaitra Navratri
Home city guide courts in thiruvananthapuram

Courts in Thiruvananthapuram

Thiruvananthapuram has one Principal District and Sessions Court, two Additional District and Sessions Courts, four Additional Sessions Courts, six Assistant Sessions Courts, a Chief Judicial Magistrate, an Additional Chief Judicial Magistrate and 14 Judicial First Class Magistrates Courts. In addition, there are three Motor Accident Claims Tribunals, two Family Courts, a Cooperative Tribunal, an Enquiry Commissions and Special Judge under the Prevention of Corruption Act and a Rent Control Court. All these courts are spread over Thiruvananthapuram city and its suburbs of Neyyattikara, Attimngal, Varkala, Nedumangadu and Kattakada.

Trivandrum district court

The main court complex is located at Vanchiyoor in Thiruvananthapuram. The new court complex was first proposed by District Judge Rajendra Babu but completed only in 2010. It houses the offices of all seven Magistrates, the Motor Accident Claims Tribunal and the Family Court. Video conferencing facility is available here. Day-to-day functioning has been streamlined with a host of IT initiatives, making it easier for litigants, advocates and the general public to access information. The Principal District and Sessions Court in Thiruvananthapuram plays a pivotal role in the state’s judicial system which has its High Court in Ernakulam.

Principal District and Sessions Court in Thiruvananthapuram

The Principal District and Sessions Court, located in Thiruvananthapuram, is presided over by a District & Sessions Judge. Two Additional District and Sessions Courts are also located here. These courts have jurisdiction over both civil and criminal matters. Cases under the Scheduled Castes/Scheduled Tribes (Prevention of Atrocities Act)) are also tried here.

Additional Sessions Courts in Thiruvananthapuram

Additional Sessions Courts are located in Thiruvananthapuram and Neyyattinkara. They have jurisdiction over civil cases.

Assistant Sessions Courts in Thiruvananthapuram

Assistant Sessions Courts are located in Thiruvananthapuram, Neyyattinkara, Attingal and Nedumangad. They have appellate powers over judgments of the Munsiff Court.

Chief Judicial Magistrates

Chief Judicial Magistrates are present in Thiruvananthapuram, Neyyattinkara, Nedumangad, Attingal and Varkala. They deal with criminal cases under the Criminal Procedure Code and can impose a prison sentence of upto three years and fines upto Rs 5,000.

Family Court in Thiruvananthapuram

The Family court is located in Thiruvananthapuram and presided over by a District Judge. It has jurisdiction over all types of cases pertaining to section 7 of the Family Court Act.

Munsif Courts in Thiruvananthapuram

Munsif Courts are located in Thiruvananthapuram, Neyyattinkara, Nedumangad and Varkala. They have all the powers of a Judicial Magistrate of the First Class and can dispose of criminal cases.

Thiruvananthapuram Tribunals

The Motor Accident Claims Tribunals, Cooperative Tribunal, University Appellate Tribunal and Tribunal for Local Self-Government Institutions are all headed by a District Judge and deal with appeals and revisions.

An Enquiry Commissions and Special Judge, presided by a District Judge, is empowered to try cases under the prevention of Corruption Act and a Court of Special Judge at Neyyattinkara is empowered to try cases under the Akbari Act.

Important Contact Numbers
Principal District and Sessions Court, Thiruvananthapuram - +91 471 2462167
Assistant Sessions Court, Nedumangad - +91 472 2800510
Munsiff Court, Varkala - +91 471 2602440
Motor Accident Claims Tribunal, Neyyattinkara - +91 471 2223055
Munsiff Court, Kattakada - +91 471 2290359

Major Cities You Must Know

Are you a Business Owner?

Add the products or services you offer

Promote your business on your local city site and get instant enquiries